Triptych III

“Art theories have no meaning for me. Beauty has. This is all my philosophy. I do not attempt to be original or different” – Lucie Rie.

The last time I met Lucie Rie, it was raining. She motioned to me to place my wet umbrella in what appeared to be an enormous old vase just inside the door. It was only when I was leaving that she told me it was a 16th century Korean glazed pot. I asked, “Aren’t you afraid it will get damaged?” She smiled and shrugged off the notion, “It has survived all these years.” To my great regret, I never saw her again.

Leave a Reply

