Triptych II

“If one should ask me whether I believe I am a modern potter or a potter of tradition, I would answer, I don’t know and I don’t care. Art alive is always modern, no matter how old or young” – Lucie Rie.

The second time I met Lucie Rie, she unveiled four ceramics she had been making: two porcelain bowls, a stoneware pot, and the by then famous bottle-shaped vase that had appeared on posters for her exhibition at the Victoria & Albert Museum. In trepidation, I examined them one by one, speechless, as she keenly observed the effect of what was literally her handiwork.

Leave a Reply

